This may screw up a couple of the “Albums to look forward to in 2015”-lists that some publications already have released: Sufjan Stevens, indie crooner and sonic mastermind announced today via Pitchfork that he will be releasing his new record, Carrie & Lowell on March 31st this year. That’s only a month and a half away!

According to the newsletter his label, Asthmatic Kitten Records, sent out today, this LP will be a collection of eleven songs containing a “fragile melody hat gathers steam until it becomes nothing less than a modern hymn.” Well, those are big words, but knowing Mr. Stevens solo work as well as his collaborations with fellow musical geniuses Nico Muhly and Aaron Dessner, he’ll probably release another epic masterpiece like 2010’s Age of Adz. Time to be excited!


Tracklist here: 

 Carrie & Lowell:

01 Death With Dignity

02 Should Have Known Better

03 All of Me Wants All of You

04 Drawn to the Blood

05 Fourth of July

06 The Only Thing

07 Carrie & Lowell

08 Eugene

09 John My Beloved

10 No Shade in the Shadow of the Cross

11 Blue Bucket of Gold

Article by: Julia Maehner

Be first to comment